Testimonials

What people are saying about The Lordleaze Hotel


 


Great place to stop with kids - Rating 5/5

The hotel was great. We have a 5 year old and av3 year old. The family room was perfect for us. Spacious and quiet. The restaurant was very flexible in catering for the children and there is a grass court yard for the children to blow of steam after a long drive. We will stay again.

Reviewer:Rachelle Gerrard | Sun 16th Jul 2017


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming staff, lovely food and I like the character of the Lordleaze hotel. The real ale is very good. Only problem I had was the pump kicking in when other people were getting showers especially very early in the morning, other than that a great stay and will definitely be going back

Reviewer:freddie gower | Thu 6th Jul 2017


Mrs - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely dtay - clean room - polite friendly staff - delicious food

Reviewer:Marsel Shawe | Tue 20th Dec 2016


XA convenient relaxing little gem which feels miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant room with comfortable bed. Plenty of food options at both breakfast and dinner and nothing was too much trouble. Lounge space limited but spacious bar area. Attractive well kept gardens. Overall a very enjoyable week.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Woodhouse | Sat 15th Oct 2016


Country delight. - Rating 4/5

Only an overnight stay, but impressed with the hotel.Not on a main road but well worth finding.Staff friendly.Pleasant room and comfortable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marcia Fry | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Wedding Party - Rating 5/5

We were due to attend our nephew\'s wedding reception and so booked a room for the night.We arrived after the service to a very warm greeting from the staff. We were very impressed with our room, it was both comfortable and well equipped. In the morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. All the members of staff we met, were very friendly and helpful. The wedding reception went well and was enjoyed by all. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Gridley | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Very pleasant2-night stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable bed, excellent bathroom. Impeccably tidy & clean inside and out. Friendly & helpful service. Excellent draught beer.

Reviewer:Stephen Hall | Sat 3rd Sep 2016


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

I recently stayed at the Lordleaze Hotel with my son, partner and in-laws. Had a lovely stay. Food was excellent, especially the breakfast. The staff and owners were all very friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Thank you Barry and Diane :-)

Reviewer:Wendy Calvin | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Birthday get together - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, clean hotel and very flexible to our needs.

Reviewer:Amanda Rider | Sun 14th Aug 2016


Wedding Weekend- Rating 5/5

Although we only stayed at The Lordleaze Hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding a few miles up the road, but throughout our stay we were very impressed with the Hotel and the lovely staff, the Hotel itself was very charming and the staff very friendly and helpful. the room was tidy and had everything you\'ll need for a short stay & the breakfast was delicious. 5 stars from us

Reviewer:Mr. Daren Loader | Sun 14th Aug 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, great food catering for gluten free,large room, good powerful shower, nice big fluffy towels, wide choice at breakfast. Doggies welcome although only downside was they can\'t sit in bar with you while you have a drink.

Reviewer:Miss. Karen Scott | Wed 6th Jul 2016


Three generations holiday - Rating 5/5

Amazing facilities. Friendly and accommodating staff. Even the children (2 and 4) enjoyed themselves and slept well so that we could enjoy our dinner.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin Elliott | Sun 12th Jun 2016


lordleaze hotelchard - Rating 5/5

excellent hotel with fantastic staff lovely setting,and very quiet, if we ever come to chard again will definitely be staying at the lordleaze hotel ..

Reviewer:Victor Burda | Mon 30th May 2016


Quick stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly reception on arrival. Comfortable and clean room. Very good breakfast and service.

Reviewer:Richard Miller | Thu 12th May 2016


. - Rating 5/5

I booked a stay at the Lordleaze because it was pet friendly and both Casper and I had a lovely time!We were looked after very well by everyone.Thank you!

Reviewer:Miss. Kathy Higgs | Sat 12th Mar 2016


THE LORDLEAZE HOTEL - Rating 5/5

WHAT A LOVELY HOTEL, WITH LOVELY STAFF, OUR STAY WAS WONDERFUL, FOOD WAS EXCELLENT, ALL ROUND 100% AND MORE!!WE WILL BE LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR NEXT VISIT SOON, ........BRILLIANT XX

Reviewer:Wendy & Trevor KIDDLE | Mon 7th Mar 2016


Amazing - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay. The staff were really welcoming and looked after us well, even making us sandwiches for Sunday lunch when the kitchen was closed.The rooms are very traditional, spacious and comfortable.Our son was particularly impressed with the bunk beds.We\'ll definitely stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Packer | Mon 29th Feb 2016


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

Arrival. Made to feel welcome.Foodvery. Good. & well presented Room.

Reviewer:Mr. Maurice Palmer | Sun 24th Jan 2016


Christmas at The Lordleaze - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have always fancied spending Christmas in a country hotel with a log fire and, having spent an enjoyable stay at the Lordleaze back in April, we new the hotel offered great food, is ideally located, clean, friendly and hospitable.We chose to book the Christmas package which gave us half board for the 3 days of our relaxing stay. Only afew rooms were occupied over the period but these were like minded people seeking a quiet break. Full marks to Robin, his family and staff. We\'ll be back.

Reviewer:Mr. john graham | Tue 5th Jan 2016


xmas 2015 stay - Rating 4/5

An excellent hotel with a warm welcome from the family, always someone available to look after your every need, wonderful food and a good choice of ales in a comfortable bar.

Reviewer:Ron Rich | Mon 28th Dec 2015


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

Excellent staff, who were very welcoming and friendly. Lovely evening meal and breakfast, a great venue for a surprise 60th birthday party.

Reviewer:Miss. Charlee Sully | Mon 2nd Nov 2015


Good value hotel - Rating 4/5

Slightly dated in decor but nonetheless the room was clean and warm. Public areas again need updating but staff and service good. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and thought the meal was good and value for money. Breakfast was very good too. Very good value for money all round.

Reviewer:Mrs. Beverley Hampton | Thu 29th Oct 2015


First Class Stay - Rating 5/5

First Class. Room excellent.Food excellent.Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Burgess | Tue 20th Oct 2015


Pleasant surprise - Rating 4/5

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to the Jurrasic Coast and found this gem of a country hotel.The room was very clean and spacious, large bay window, hot shower;with the best, large, soft towels!Who doesn\'t love a great bath towel to cover up with. The added bonus for me, which we have not found in many hotels here in England, were two extra pillows!!!The made to order breakfast we delicious. The breakfast room, warm and cosy, with tableclothes and the tables.The teapots were adorable as well.We didn\'t walk around the country inn, but saw it had a garden which we viewed from our breakfast table.If we were ever in the area again, we wouldn\'t hesitate on staying here again.Lovely experience.(only 4 stars as we didn\'t eat in their dinning room)

Reviewer:Mr. David Lindsay | Tue 9th Jun 2015


A great hotel in all areas - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here several times recently and I simply cannot fault it, the rooms are really comfortable & clean, the food is fantastic & the staff are all very efficient, friendly and welcoming. I stay in hotels 10 or 12 nights a month and this is one of my favourites

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Jones | Mon 25th May 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel in a quiet rural location.Room clean and comfortable.Lovely bar with wood fire.Excellent food.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Hayward | Tue 19th May 2015


A good meal and a good nights sleep, what more can you want.......... - Rating 4/5

Another fine evenings rest and relaxation at the Lordleaze Hotel. A good sized double room (No12) with ensuite bathroom complete with shower.Compliments to the chef for locally sourced fish and chips, all washed down with some local Yeovil Brewery beer. The Hosts are convivial and happy to engage in some small talk with the weary traveller over a beer or two. I would recommend this as a great place to stay, either on business or whilst touring the local area.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon Novis | Tue 21st Apr 2015


Excellent hotel - very good value - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here a couple of times and have never been disappointed, the rooms are clean, comfortable and with great showers, the food is very good with a good range of beers. the staff are really friendly and last but not least the breakfast is superb

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Jones | Sun 15th Mar 2015


Welcome Home - Rating 5/5

What can I say, Outstanding! I used to stay at the Lordleaze about 5 years ago when my work took me to the area but have been using big name chains for the last few years as I travel Nationally. Upon visiting the area again there were no alternatives for me...it HAD to be the Lordleaze. The hotel is so warm, friendly and inviting you almost forget you are in a hotel and think you are staying with friends! The rooms are filled with all those little touches that raise your comfort level and feel homely (very unlike the starkness of a standard chain hotel). The food was the main reason I wanted to return and after all this time they still have the same chef delivering michelin star quality dishes, it did not dissapoint at all! The service is always very professional, timely and friendly and I was even welcomed back by a member of staff who \"never forgets a face\"! This kind of excellence is very rarely recognised and I will always recommend a stay here. Well done to you all and thank you for my warm welcome home!

Reviewer:Mrs. Samantha Hanks | Thu 12th Feb 2015


This is the place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Friendly Service. Food and accommodation was great. Extremely professional.On a personal note \"thank you for the lovely reception you arranged for our 60 guests the day before my son and I left to return to Australia\"This is definitely a great place to stay and yes we will return.A huge thank you to all the staff at theLordleaze.Eric & Michael Hartley.

Response

Thanks for your great feedback - if you have a minute and can put something on tripadvisor as discussed would be great!All the best & thanks againTom

Reviewer:Mr. Eriic Hartley | Tue 3rd Feb 2015


Visit to Chard on Business - Rating 5/5

From the local road signs that guide you to the location and the excellent food and accommodation on offer, there is a lot to recommend this characterful establishment to those wishing for something other than the default hotel / motel chain. Would be glad to return in the future ... recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Dear | Tue 27th Jan 2015


A lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights for a Wedding held there. The place was lovely and the staff were friendly and couldn\'t do enough for you. I would love to return for a visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dawn Scotland | Mon 29th Sep 2014


SeaBee - Rating 5/5

What a pleasure to find this hotel exactly as described. Staff friendly & helpful. Peaceful spot, yet easy to find, menu thoughtfully put together. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Claire Brewer | Mon 22nd Sep 2014


Perfect Stopover - Rating 5/5

These guys really understand customer service and this is a classy hotel. We stayed over en route to the south coast and couldn't have been made more welcome. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and the room was ideal. All in all, very impressive.

Reviewer:Mr. Nige Mosson | Tue 9th Sep 2014


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean hotel with very friendly staff.We really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Chalcraft | Tue 19th Aug 2014


Excellent Service - Rating 5/5

Wonderful weekend the attention to detail was particularly impressive. Fillet Steak on our final night was excellent. The young girl on reception who met us on arrival was a credit to the hotel throughout our visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Cope | Mon 2nd Jun 2014


Excellent - as always! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Lordleaze Hotel on several occasions and cannot fault the service and comfort that is given. We are always greeted with a smile and recognition which immediately makes you feel so welcome.We had a delightful four poster bedroom which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lovely comfortable bed. We highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Denny | Sat 31st May 2014


The Lordleaze H otel - Rating 5/5

This was a most enjoyable stay at a very peaceful and friendly hotel. All the staff were helpful and very polite. Would definately use the hotel again.

Reviewer:Mr. Denis Bingle | Tue 12th Nov 2013


Dog-friendly accommodation - Rating 5/5

We needed accommodation that would accept dogs, and this was ideal - a room with direct access onto the patio, gardens and car park.Couldn't have been better, together with good food and friendly service.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheenagh Wreyford | Sat 31st Aug 2013


Friendly atmosphere - Rating 5/5

Only there for 1 night but had a good stay. Friendly staff, good food and drink. Shall definetly be staying there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mital Shah | Wed 28th Aug 2013


Quiet surroundings - Rating 4/5

There is a friendly atmosphere here from reception to the restaurant and around.

Reviewer:Miss. M Celia Phillips | Sat 25th May 2013


Warm and Friendly - Rating 5/5

After many previous visits, this hotel remains warm and friendly, with the attention to detail of the working owners continuing to shine through.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Howe | Thu 28th Mar 2013


We had a wonderful weekend stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I shared a wonderful birthday weekend at the Lordleaze Hotel. The staff were really accommodating and very friendly.The hotel has real character and we were surprised it didn't have more than three stars. We have to mention the food.We had our evening meal in the hotels restaurant and the food was to die for.We highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate at staying there again,thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne Woodward | Mon 4th Feb 2013


Comfortable hotel - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room, very good restaurant, friendly staff

Reviewer:Mr. Timothy Hardiman | Thu 24th Jan 2013


best hotel in the area - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a warm welcome and a pleasant stay

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun Taylor | Fri 7th Dec 2012


28.11.12 - Rating 4/5

A welcoming hotel with friendly and attentive staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Suki Pascoe | Thu 29th Nov 2012


Friendly - Rating 5/5

As always my stay here was painless, easy to book, easy to check in, easy to depart.Does really get any easier.Food and drink also always good.Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Micklewright | Wed 31st Oct 2012


Business Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights on a business trip.Room was spotless and comfortableFood was excellent, particularly the "Lordleaze Chips", good value tooTwo real ales in the bar which were excellent, lovely to sit in the beer garden, where you could eat too, a nice change from the restaurantBreakfast was fresh and very goodNice quiet location on the outskirts of the town.I'd definately return if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. David Sheedy | Mon 6th Aug 2012


May stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room, Good dining room, Good Dinner on friday night, Great breakfasts, Pleasant helpful staff and good service.Location a bit out of the way, but secluded and quiet.

Reviewer:Mr. Billard R A Billard | Mon 2nd Jul 2012


Not sure about Chard, but The Lordleaze is FAB - Rating 5/5

Found hotel easily from local sign posts.Didn't have an evening meal, but the Otter at the bar was really smooth - as was the house (sounds a bit like persimmon but isn't) white.Room changed from twin to double with no fuss at all.On line you can't tell the bed size, but all doubles are king size - 5 foot I think.Best night's sleep in ages!Bathroom shower was forceful. I didn't want to get out!!!Breakfast:What can I say? At bottom of left ahnd page of menu it says something like;if you can't see it ask.We asked for cheese, ham and mushroom omelettes. THEY WERE FAB.Checking out was corteous and slick.A great place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Hayter | Mon 25th Jun 2012


Short Stay 2 Nights - Rating 4/5

The hotel was comfortable, the staff were very helpful, and the food was good what more would you want for a short stay.I would recommend the hotel to my friends for short stays. Never mastered putting the key into the door lock though.

Reviewer:Mr. E C Viney | Thu 10th May 2012


Business stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel met all my needs - friendly, attentive staff, good food and confortable room. I would recommend the Lordleaze to anyone. Many thanks for your hospitality Robin.

Reviewer:Mr. StephenHollis | Fri 20th Apr 2012


Corporate team Building event - Rating 5/5

We recently spent two nights at the LordLeaze hotel whilst attending a day at River Cottage,which was only 8 miles away.I cannot recommend the hotel enough,the staff were friendly and welcoming,the food was fantastic and the bar was fully stocked!The rooms are spacious,comfortable and quiet and there as plenty of parking for our group of 16 people.I would happily stay here again and would also highly recommend it to one and all.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Fuglesang | Thu 15th Mar 2012


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had a excellent few days at the Lordlease The food was first class Room was warm and very comfortable,Good to see a hotel wirh excellent 'Real Beer'.Will be back again very soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Affron | Fri 3rd Feb 2012


Happy to recommend! - Rating 5/5

Extremely comfortable stay in a very peaceful location just outside town. Very helpful and welcoming hosts, who also offer a good restaurant option. The hotel is perfectly situated to explore Devon, Dorset and Somerset and I would thoroughly recommend this as a central location for a short getaway.

Reviewer:Ms. Anne Chard | Thu 26th Jan 2012


recomended - Rating 4/5

A very pleasant and friendly stay, would recomend this hotel

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun Taylor | Fri 9th Dec 2011


lORDLEAZEHOTEL - Rating 2/5

A most enjoyable stay, staff very pleasant and welcoming, the food was excellent. wILL DEFINATELY BE RETURNING

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Hosgood | Wed 23rd Nov 2011


Business stay - Rating 4/5

Hi the stay was enjoyable and the staff/host most amenable, cleanliness was excellent,evening food good, breakfast excellent,

Reviewer:Mr. ChrisSims | Mon 24th Oct 2011


Great stay - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at the hotel, although it could do with a little modernising here and there it was quiet comfortable and well priced. The cooked breakfast was really good and all the staff were helpful and polite.

Reviewer:Mr. JamesStavert | Mon 17th Oct 2011


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay and highly recommended. Entire staff are welcoming and friendly;restaurant food was exceptionally good.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Luxford | Sat 15th Oct 2011


Ron Hooper - Rating 4/5

Excellent well presented hotel very clean confortable good food very pleasant surroundings

Reviewer:Mr. RonaldHooper | Tue 11th Oct 2011


14 September 2011 - Rating 5/5

The hotel is in a lovely quiet countryside position, the room was bright, airy, clean and had all that we needed. Dinner was excellent and the restaurant was lovely and breakfast excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again when we are in the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. AnnettaHills | Wed 14th Sep 2011


Fantastic Lordleaze - Rating 5/5

I just wanted to say that we planned our wedding weekend and then chanced upon the Lordleaze. We took over the hotel for the weekend and they could not have been kinder, more accomodating, provided better breakfasts or generally a lovelier stay - it was a really wonderful the way they helped us. Thank you fo making our wedding weekend go with such ease. Annabel and James

Reviewer:Miss. Annabel Mullin | Wed 14th Sep 2011


- Rating 0/5

Great stay. I left an inflatable cushion under my pillow cover. Please hold it for my friend to pick up. Thanks!

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Flowers | Sat 13th Aug 2011


Recent overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel, clean and well presented. Could do with increasing signage through housing estate as not easy to find in the dark.Good food and very comfortable rooms.Will stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Barnes | Fri 5th Aug 2011


An Oasis - Rating 5/5

I have to admit, I booked the hotel by chance when looking to stay for a weekend of cycling. What an Oasis it turned out to be. Friendly hosts, great food, great company and very very cycling friendly. We WILL BE BACK.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Stirzaker | Mon 1st Aug 2011


recommend - Rating 5/5

I stay in lots of hotels for business reasons and I found this hotel, friendly, clean and above all to me, safe.Facilities are good, with a resturant and bar on site.Would definately recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne Carr | Fri 22nd Jul 2011


Excellent Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your hospitality during our stay at the weekend.We would thoroughly recommend your hotel and hopeto return in the not too distant future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Vivien Jameson | Mon 18th Jul 2011


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

First class small friendly hotel - excellent food - super value for money

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Hughes | Thu 7th Jul 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Bridal Suite
  • Wifi
  • Wedding Functions
  • Walking Holidays